Under the sun: the Kate Challis RAKA Award 2013 - Ian Potter Museum of Art

Under the sun: the Kate Challis RAKA Award 2013

09 Aug 2013 — 02 Nov 2013

Artists: Teresa Baker, Daniel Boyd, Hector Burton, Timothy Cook, Mabel Juli, Kunmarnanya Mitchell, Alick Tipoti, Garawan Wanambi, Regina Wilson

Curators: Joanna Bosse and Suzette Wearne

The Kate Challis RAKA Award is an annual award for Indigenous creative artists established by the late Professor Emeritus Bernard Smith. Administered by the University of Melbourne’s Australian Centre, the award of approximately $25,000 is offered in a five-year cycle with practitioners in a different area of the arts being rewarded each year.

For over twenty-five years the award has been instrumental in assisting the development of Indigenous writers, performers, film-makers, poets and visual artists, and in 2013 the award category is the visual arts. Previous visual arts winners include Gali Gurruwiwi (2009), Ricky Maynard (2003), Brook Andrew (1998) and Lin Onus (1993).

Under the sun includes artworks in various media by emerging and established artists who have been selected for this prestigious invitational award. The exhibition will include recent works by Teresa Baker (SA), Daniel Boyd (Qld/NSW), Hector Burton (WA), Timothy Cook (Tiwi/NT), Mabel Juli (WA), the late Kunmarnanya Mitchell (WA), Alick Tipoti (TSI/Qld), Garawan Wanambi (NT) and Regina Wilson (NT).

The Kate Challis RAKA Award 2013 has been awarded to the work Garnkeny Ngarranggarni (2010) by Mabel Juli.